Fear no evil

I was supposed to workout last night – undoubtedly a great way to clear ones head to get ready for some writing time. Yet, alas…instead I went out to partake in some extremely unhealthy eating. And you know how it is when you eat fast food, it’s like swallowing a lead weight and makes breathing seem like a chore. So, feeling sleepy and bloated, I decided to try meditation as a means to prepare to write.

Sitting cross-legged, eyes closed, breathing deeply…yes…this is exactly what I needed to relax…except…who knew a stomach could make that much noise! Clearly, I did not consume a burger, but rather a small creature intent on extricating himself from my belly. Ugh!

A handful of Tums and about 20 minutes later, I finally got down to writing. I think I could get use to this again!

Thinking about the kind of books I like to write, I decided that tonight, I would get into the mind of one of my would-be evil characters for the next 12 minutes and I came up with the following:

Rain tap tap tapped like skeletal fingers on a window pane.
Embers buried beneath dark soot, gasped for air within the craggy hearth.
Darkness consumed everything in the room, even the man that stood in its depths.
A heart beat, the tempo slow and even.
Fear, harvested with each breath the man takes, fills the air with a putrid stench.
Sanity has but a tenuous grip…and it is faltering.
Wave after toxic wave of animosity burns from deeply hollow eyes, scalding its way down to that place where a soul should live.
He fears no evil.
And yet…evil fears him.

I realized after this exercise that there was some real hope of firming up my flabby brain muscles, and all I could think of was…I wanna do it again!

Okie doke — it’s go time! Fourteen minutes of writing.

Leave a Reply

