Apathy

OMG, I’ve crawled outta the woodwork and posted a blog!  Wowza!  Where have I been?  I’ve been asking myself that very question.  Where did the time go??  I swear I was only gonna take off a couple weeks, then BAM, months blew by.  Ugh.

Anyhoo, winter was actually pretty amazing, but I have to admit, I’m still glad it’s over.  Bring on summer!

My daughter’s curling season is over too, but she wowed us by winning three trophies this year!  Including club champions!  Dat’s my girl.  =D

So, in my home resides a veritable zoo – a bunny and two cats.  Okay, maybe to some that may not be a zoo, but my house is rather small, so it certainly feels like a zoo.  Phoenix, the newest addition, has a personality all her own.  She loves to eat — anything!  And I mean anything.  Recently, when I was washing the dishes, she plopped herself right next to me and meowed at me like she wanted something.  So, thinking it would be funny, I took a handful of bubbles and put it on her head.  It actually was rather funny to watch her contort to get them off, but what surprised me is that she ate the bubbles!  What??  Yah, I kid you not!  Now every time I do dishes, there she is, waiting for her serving of bubbles.  Yup, dat’s my kitty.

Now, getting to my writing project, I tilted to the darker side.  Wait…me, dallying on the dark side — big surprise.  LOL.  Enjoy!

Apathy

I am darkness
Flawed and tormented and dangerous.
I am bent
Perhaps even twisted
But not broken.
Bereft of love
My heart is black as night.
I struggle with a sliver of humanity.
It haunts me
And I despise it.

It flaunts itself
Sickly sweet kindness
Dripping with sarcasm.
Only fools believe in humanity.
Hidden behind scars and apathy
I have no use for it.
It has never served me well.

Hatred smoulders deep in my belly
Quelling all claims to humanity.
I prefer it that way.
My eyes, soulless
I am an empty vessel
Put on this earth for one purpose;
Destruction.
And if I die today
Hell awaits me
…and I welcome it.

2 thoughts on “Apathy

  1. Glad to see you back in the blogging world once more. I missed your great poetry.

    Congrats to your daughter for her curling successes! I am sure you’re ‘proud as punch!’ 🙂

    Your newest pet sounds like a strange one! lol Can’t wait to meet her.

  2. My sister had a cat named Phoenix. Not a bubble eater though. 😉

    “Hidden behind scars and apathy” is ME! I am too often apathetic, and I don’t know if it’s just me (REALLY ME) or my depression is creeping up again when I “feel” or “unfeel” apathetic.

    This poem is much different than I would have expected, considering the title. A great surprise!

    Great stuff again, KC!

Leave a Reply

